100th Blogversary!

These words make up the lead sentence to my 100th blog post! I have been holding back on posting for about 2 weeks now and have almost posted every one of those days. I have been holding back because I felt like I needed to post about something important. Something greater then the average post. I didn’t have anything concise in mind and this post is certainly not what I was thinking. Perhaps that is why I’m finally typing.

Anyways, I’m sure this post will be edited in the next few days but first, here is the premier for my first (of hopefully many more and of better quality) Behind The Scenes video. Featuring youth climbing sensation (laughs) and USA Climbing Team member Eric “EZ-E” Sanchez.

That video was a long process. Back in August, FStoppers.com was holding a BTS video contest. The prize being an HDdSLR. Of course I wanted to win. I had just done a shoot with Eric and I was already planning on re-shooting the picture that we made so it was obvious that was my video. I got a hold of my good friend from school Julian Lim and after have a planing lunch (beers) we were psyched and ready. We had 2 weeks till the deadline at that point. School was also starting in 3 weeks and Julian’s the Editor in Chief of both the our school weekly and magazine (READ: LOTS of uncredited, unpaid, unseen planning, etc.) so to say he had free time to shoot, cut and deliver a full video would be a lie. Add to that, he was going out of town 2 days before deadline.

So we kicked it into high gear. Luckily we were shooting at night because allocating time during the day was not happenin’. The shoot went great and even though I could hardly make comprehensive sentences, I knew we had the shot and clips in the bag.

The plan was to have a very rough edit of the video the next morning which left Julian with minimal sleep, a day behind on his daily vlog and exporting on the drive from Tracy to Livermore. Then the un-imaginable happened. His computer crashed. Thankfully we had the original clips backed up and to days later and an editing platform switch, we had another edit. It was crazy to see him lose ALL his data PERMANENTLY and then turn around and re edit the video that killed his computer. I was really moved actually. He did this for me. Daily chivalry still exists.

We thought we were in the good. We were going to win. A new camera was ours! Mwahaha! Wait, why does the video not work? Not again! Tomorrow is the deadline. Shit. Were not going to even get it turned in.

Julian had finished the edit. We starting the export then left it overnight to finish up. When I came back the next morning I scanned over it and it seemed fine. It wasn’t until after uploading to the interwebs that the video gods of Beginer slapped us down again. At around the 1:43 mark, the audio dropped and there was only video. BUT WHY!

I had no idea. For a long time I couldn’t figure it out. It took me putting together some other shorts in the meantime and a review original file before I figured it out. We had the size, frame rates and video quality all wrong. The biggest mistake was shooting in a different format then thought. We used a D90 which shoot 720p but who’d a thunk they don’t come out of the box at 720. Instead we shot in 640p all while thinking we were in HD.

So, that brings us to today. over 2 months later. Julian and I finally had some free time so we sat down together and re worked the second version. After reconnecting music, fixing titles and tidying everything up we had our final cut.

I must say, I learned a lot about video working on this project and am almost glad that we didn’t get it right the first time. I think this version is much better and we had a clearer understanding of how the final look should be.

There are a number of things that I wish we could have done better but shooting in the wrong quality trumps em all. The one thing that I do like about this project was the collaboration. The lunch and shoot were the first time I had seen Julian in over a year but more then that I enjoyed working on a video with someone else. It’s really fun and great to be able to bounce ideas off each other and what we have on the drawing boards right now is seeming to be super dope.

Anyways I have typed WAY more then I like too. So I’m out. Plus its past 1am. But thank you so much for getting to the end of this and since you have invested this much time already PLEASE drop me a comment. I’d love to hear what you think, or answer and questions you may have about the video and shoot.

Till the next time,

-Alton

Leave a Reply

