Berkeley Bouldering

Yesterday I rolled out to Berkeley to climb with some friends at Mortar Rock. I really didn’t climb but instead shoot A TON of video and stills.

This is the first out of about 3 different things I will be putting together with the footy.

This was also the first time I’ve dedicated myself primarily to shooting video. I must say that I really enjoyed it. Especially using an HDdSLR. It just feels natural to shoot video on these new cameras.

For this video I borrowed a Nikon D90 and used a few different lenses. An 18-105/3.5-5.6 VR (great steady shots), a 17-55/2.8DX (awesome depth of field and at 17mm it just barely gives some barrel distortion) and a 50/1.4 (HUGE depth of field, great pull focus shots).

Most of this was done hand held and some a tri pod. Nothing fancy.

I’m really psyched as this is my first “real” climbing short and I think that I pulled it off.

As always, please leave any questions or comments you may have.

Climb On!

Leave a Reply

